Government Relations Committee

The purpose of the Government Relations (GR) Committee is to promote the legislative and regulatory priorities of NCDA and to advocate for the career development profession. NCDA GR Committee members take a proactive role in raising issues and concerns, and promoting initiatives to demonstrate the importance of career development and the impact it has on the nation’s existing and future workforce. In addition, the GR Committee will take the lead on fostering relations and outreach to state Career Development Associations to help them stay current on government relations issues impacting NCDA members across the nation. 

Key Focus Areas:

  • Influence key legislation & regulations impacting career development practitioners.
  • Communicate with NCDA members regarding legislative updates.
  • Foster state-level legislative advocacy.
  • Develop NCDA members’ advocacy skills and demonstrate a presence in Washington, DC, through an annual Hill Day event.
  • Promote NCDA GR through global conference committee meetings and presentations, sharing legislative updates and wins, and recognizing key legislative champions with an annual award.
  • Liaise with NCDA committees and external organizations with similar legislative priorities.

GR Meetings:

Monthly: 4th Tuesday of the Month, 2:00-3:00pm Eastern Time

All NCDA members are welcome to join us!

2024 Meeting dates and link: 

  • January 23, 2-3 pm ET
  • February 27, 2-3 pm ET
  • March 26, 2-3 pm ET
  • April 23, 2-3 pm ET
  • May 28, 2-3 pm ET
  • June 25, 2-3 pm ET
  • July 23, 2-3 pm ET
  • August 27, 2-3 pm ET
  • September 24, 2-3 pm ET

Interested in joining the committee? Reach out to Co-Chairs Elle & Shelby (emails linked below).

National Advocate Partner:Lobbyit Logo


American Counseling Association Partner:

ACA Government Affairs and Public Policy (GAPP) team

NCDA GR Committee Members:

CA:      Jonae Watts
FL:       Nina Talley
GA:      Gene Bottoms
            Saecilia Jackson
MD:     Diana Bailey, GR Emerita
            Lana Kaye Farley
            Natalie Kauffman, State Coordinator
            Maisie Lynch
MI:       Sherita Bryant
            Margi Williams
NM:     Charles Lehman
NC:      Mike Marlowe
            Amy Policastro Schroeder, State Coordinator
OH:      Sarah R. JanTausch, State Coordinator
            Jill Minor
            Nina Talley (Relocated to FL. Works on behalf of both states.)
SC:      Patricia Ferguson
VA:      Rebecca Dedmond, GR Emerita
            Steven Myers

  • NCDA Board of Trustees Liaison: Marty Apodaca